Deleting the leftovers

17Mar10

Let’s say that I’m recording something on my Tivo. I check out the program and decide I don’t want it. So, I stop watching that program before it’s over, and I tell the Tivo to stop recording the program. Will I be keeping that recording for later? Doubtful, since I manually cancelled the process. So why doesn’t the Tivo automatically ask if I’d like to delete the partial recording? This little bit of extra logic would eliminate the need to return to the Now Playing list to find and delete the unwanted show.

The issue with user-created leftovers isn’t limited to Tivo. For instance, you get the same situation if you’re downloading a big file in your web browser, and decide to cancel it before it’s done. The partial download probably isn’t very useful, so the chances are quite good that the user will end up deleting it after they press cancel. What’s the takeaway here? In short, if a customer’s behavior indicates they want to cancel or abandon a process that hasn’t been completed yet, you can save them time and effort by offering to automatically remove the leftover files.



No Responses Yet to “Deleting the leftovers”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s